Posted in Uncategorized

We Need to Go After It

Thought Catalogue repromoted a post that had resonated with me when I first read it in December today. As I read it again this morning, I was so grateful to have the chance to consider it again.

You Need to Go After the Things You Want

It really can be that simple. Some of my favorite people are those who unabashedly show affection and speak big, loud and unashamed kindnesses. But those people? They’re rare. Set apart by the unfiltered truth they are willing and able to freely state, I’ve witnessed them time and time again bring out the best in others with whom they are surrounded. They’re like magnets of love and generosity.

Raised with small-town values in a small midwestern town by parents who are usually found well within the boundaries of their comfort zones, I was taught to be satisfied with a small life. By working hard and making an honest living, but not standing out or shocking anyone with boldness.

But that’s not what I want for myself. “We need to move away from this constant need of coming across as calm, cool and collected. WE WEREN’T BUILT TO BE CALM, COOL, AND COLLECTED. If we were, it wouldn’t feel so fucking exhausting all the time.”

I want to let it out. Let the love out. To live not only the length of my life, but the width too. 

I know that I am lucky to have people who make me want to be better in my life. They make me want to be more like them. They let it out every chance they get. I’ll should probably start by telling these wonderful people how much they mean to me – how them just being them makes my world a better place.

Leave a Reply

