Posted in Archive, In the Kitchen

So, I Started Paleo…

… so obviously, I’m pinning recipes like the one at this link to torture myself. Because, you know, everyone needs cupcakes with chocolate, salted caramel, and potato chips!!

I guess I’m taking this test to my discipline and will-power to an extreme, which is pretty much standard operating procedure for me.

In reality, day one on paleo was pretty okay. I felt like I ate constantly in an effort to fill my body’s void for just one little bitty carb. I’m grateful that Larabars are acceptable, and I’m learning to snack on almonds, sunflower seeds and fresh fruit instead of the crap that is supplied by my office on the snack shelves. I don’t even miss my beloved Coca-Cola as much as I expected. Basically, day one = success!

Day 2 was a success too. A Saturday, I typically don’t eat as much on the weekends anyway. I’m using fruit on my plan, which seems to be a problem for some play-by-the-rules paleo definitions, but it works for me. In all, I’m focused on eating whole foods, no dairy, no grains, and no unnatural sugars.

It is the morning of day 3, and I woke up with a headache again. Hopefully this will pass. The biggest adjustment so far has been tea in the mornings rather than coffee. I’m not much of a fan, but I’m trying!

Leave a Reply

