Posted in Archive, Family Love, My Unsettled Heart

My small town obsession has become my entire family’s

One thing that the Flood of 2011 taught me was to appreciate some beautiful parts of the Midwest that I had no idea even existed.

Typically, I-29 suits me just fine, but earlier this month, that roadway was mostly under water. Thus, I adventured. On nearly entirely 2-lane highways. And it was an adventure, indeed.

On my way back to Kansas, I drove through Peterson, Iowa. And pretty much fell in love. I’m now obsessed. With a town with less than 400 inhabitants. And that sounds just about perfect to me.

But just tell me you wouldn’t be too. They’ve got a Farm Machinery Museum.

All photos and information were borrowed for your viewing pleasure {and mine!} from http://petersonhistory.org/.

p.s. My Dad has even picked up a business card of one of the town’s realtors. My parents are kind of funny.

p.p.s. If you know me and know of my bad luck with this town’s unfortunate name {it’s a blast from a mostly unhappy past for me}, please disregard it. This dream hometown of mine deserves a fresh start. And so do I.

Leave a Reply

