Posted in Uncategorized

Let’s Check In…

All right – I’m going to admit right up front that I am really tired tonight. And, as such, am going to be a lazy blogger. But I did want to check in quick on my goals / sorta New Year’s resolutions.

First of all (and the most exciting announcement in my humble opinion), this half-marathon thing is totally happening. And happening it is… way sooner than I ever anticipated on January 1. My BFF and I have committed to running the Flying Pig [half] Marathon in Cincinnatti on May 2. Yup, I wrote MAY 2! Whoa, but you know, the 9-weeks-from-now date is giving me the right combination of motivation and pressure to make this happen. Emphasis on the pressure. Let’s just say I am so scared that I am going to fail miserably that every chance I get, I’m strapping on the ol’ Asics and heading to the gym. I’ve got a couple trusty training guides, and I’m feeling good – albeit freaking scared – about this thing. I will blog with more detail about my training tomorrow… preferably BEFORE I go to the gym to get more mileage in!

BTW… when I found this picture, I noticed it was featured on this blog: http://fantashak.wordpress.com/2009/07/20/beginner-tips-to-becoming-a-runner/. I think I found a new addition to my google reader in my inspiration department!

I’ll be honest – I’ve been sucking ass at a few of my resolutions, but I’m still feeling pretty good and committed about most of them. I’ve definitely been cooking one meal a week. And let’s be honest, for one person, that’s about the limit. I love leftovers, but there is no way I can polish off more than one set of leftovers at a time! Last week was my famous [in my own mind] chili. And I’d found a recipe recently that featured lotsa lime juice and cilantro, so I gave it a shot. It was tangy and delicious… those two ingredients gave my old standby some punch! I’d post my recipe, but you know I don’t use one! I’m a throw-things-together-in-the-kitchen kind of gal.

And finally, I’m working on the reading thing. While I’m studying again for the GMAT, I haven’t been doing much reading for pleasure, but that is all going to change. Actually, it’s about to change in about 10 minutes! Today I received my copy of Kelly Cutrone’s (of The Hills and The City infamy) book, which is geniusly entitled: “If You Have to Cry Go Outside.” Here’s what she writes on the back cover:

I’m not here to tell you how to get the perfect Margiela wardrobe or the perfect man or the perfect job in fasion. I’ve had all these things, and trust me, there’s a bigger prize to be had. I belive the world will change only when we change ourselves. And that starts with finding ourselves. And that starts with listening to ourselves, learning to quiet the clamor in our minds and the voices of everyone around us and moving toward what feels right. It means taking a journey like the spectacular and terrifying and ultimately mind-blowing adventure I’ve been on. I hope that you, too, will choose to have a journey instead of just a life. Actually, I hope it’s a full-on expedition.

I’m starting this bitch ASAP, and I can’t wait to tell you guys about it! I’m pretty sure that Kelly’s message is exactly what I need to absorb and start living. Today.

Well, my legs are tired from running, and before my eyes get too tired, I want to read a bit of Cutrone.

Later gators.

Leave a Reply

