Posted in Uncategorized

Inspiration…

… for me has been hard to come by lately.  I was planning to get my Etsy store up and running by the end of July.  I’ve barely started, and am set to leave town for close to 2 weeks straight.  This goal is out the window.  To be re-evaluated soon.

I haven’t written a word in ages.  I need to get on this too.  Otherwise, how will you ever read my hilarious loosely-based in reality memoir.  Now, I am well-aware that memoirs are to be memories… as fact (or close-to as possible), and the only reason I cite mine will be “loosely-based in reality is because that is how I live life.  It’s true.  But it’s lovely, too.

Today, I was inspired to be productive, however.  But in the process of me getting my to-do list accomplished, I was inspired by more than my motivation / shame for the unruly state of my home.  Mowing this morning, two girls about 13 stopped by to chat.  They were Mormon missionaries.  They were adorable.  They were sincere.  They were compassionate.  They were wonderful.  They were committed. 

The girls had no trouble waiting for me to stop the mower to talk to me for a few minutes about their beliefs.  This was not my first experience with Mormon missionaries… I’ve befriended them before, much to the dismay of my paranoid parents who worried I might be “brainwashed.”

While I am not knowledgable about their specific beliefs and how it differs from the church in which I was raised, this morning I found myself in awe of their faith and – let’s face it – courage to approach strangers continuously with the sole purpose of sharing their beliefs.

How many people do you know who would be able to demonstrate that same courage?  Not me.

I must admit that I felt a bit ashamed of my tank-top and shorts in front of them.  But the Lord accepts all kinds, right? 🙂

“Faith is courage; it is creative while despair is always destructive.”  ~David S. Muzzey

Leave a Reply

