Posted in Uncategorized

Talk Before Sleep

I actually finished another book last night… Talk Before Sleep by Elizabeth Berg.  Upon recommendation from Susan after I was less than thrilled with Until the Real Thing Comes Along by the same author.

Again, I absolutely LOVED her book, A Year of Wonders.  I read it about a year-and-a-half ago when I JUST moved to Kansas.  Maybe I was sappy at the time, but I found the story to be heartwarming and genuine.  I haven’t felt the same about any of her books that I have read since.  Talk Before Sleep is a heartbreaking story, but I didn’t get heartbroken to the extent I expected… or could have given the topic.  A woman who is loved by many is dying of breast cancer.  Women bond, talk about everything, and learn to rely on one another and themselves as they all go through the death and grieving process.  Definitely not a new plot line.  It’s worth reading if you just need a good cry.  Wouldn’t necessarily recommend it, though.  It’s now listed on my paperbackswap.com site (THANKS, Lauren!).

Basically, I’ve since headed back to Jodi Picoult for my tear-jerking reading habits.  I’m now working on Plain Truth… and I love it so far.  I’m on page 72.  That must be a good sign!

Leave a Reply

