Posted in Uncategorized

I’m allergic to wine?!? Well, that is just obviously NOT going to work for me.

Unfortunately, I happen to be one of those people who possesses a wide variety of “sensitivities” (according to my doctor), but for all intents and purposes, allergies is a better term.  The problem, according to medical experts, is that my reactions vary widely.  Thus, I am “sensitive.”  But we all knew THAT already.

So, it goes without saying that soaps and detergents with dyes and fragrances are prohibited.  I also get seasonal allergies like many others in varying degrees depending on geography.  I break out in hives in the sun.  Kiwis make my mouth itch uncontrollably.  When I go shopping, and by result touch many different fabrics and materials, my hands turn red and itchy and I basically go bananas.  I am also sensitive to other (somewhat common, this is what I tell myself) materials.  But you need to know me MUCH better  before we get into that discussion.

But the bottom line is that I don’t screw around with these KNOWN dangers because the random allegies that “pop up” unexpectedly are more than enough for me to handle.

Most recently, I enjoyed a bottle of white wine over Thanksgiving weekend.  (A weekend that couldn’t have been better, by the way, thanks for asking!)  In any case, after a glass or three, my top lip started to itch.  The itch was followed closely by a little burning.  The burning led to some pain.  And when I looked in the mirror, half of my upper lip was seriously swollen.  I looked like I would be better suited to play a character on “The Simpsons.”  And I’m not kidding.

If wine was the culprit, well, I’m going to go ahead and get used to that effect.  Sure, I’ll stay out of the sun, remain frangrance-free, and refrain from any fruit salad of unknown origin.  But no wine?!? 

Nope. Not for me.  Just call me Lisa.

Leave a Reply

