Posted in Uncategorized

to which I am most suited (?!)

I ran across (or stumbled across meaningfully) a quote today on one of my favorite blogs.  It reads, “I must do the work that I am best suited for…” Edward Weston.  So simple, yet so elusive.  How does one know what work he or she is best suited for? 

Some say “you just know when something is right.”  Now, granted this applies to a career, to a wedding dress, to a soulmate for many.  In my experience, this theory was indeed correct on a wedding dress, but not as much to the groom to whom I was pledging my life, love and happiness.  Whoops!  Needless to say, I subscribe to this line of thinking very, very cautiously and with more than a tinge of cynicism. 

Career tests are another option.  I do these as regularly as I see them online.  I enjoy trying to figure out not only my “dream” career path, as well as my purpose in life, but I don’t know how much stock to put into something that consistently tells me that I should be a teacher… a career I’ve tried and despised thoroughly.

So how does one go about figuring this out?  There are only so many classes or career paths that a person can take before they become an over-trained, under-worked, professional student.  It’s not that I am unhappy in my current job.  Quite the opposite, I love it for the most part.  However, I can’t help feeling that I should be doing something that means something to me.  Most days, I feel like my career path has happened to me, instead of by my deliberate control. 

I’ve been taking an inventory of things that make me happy and that I enjoy.  The mystery remains whether or not I can make something of the inventory, or the process that gets me to said inventory.  I don’t think a divergent career path is in the cards anytime soon, but I am looking forward to really exploring some options in order to create some sort of a road map to the “work to which I am most suited.”

One thought on “to which I am most suited (?!)

  1. Hey fellow float tripper! 😉

    Gosh, could you be any more right on to how I am feeling today ( & the past month )! Send me some of those “career test” links, maybe that will help me find something that I have passion for..I have seem to forgot!

    PS. I enjoy reading you blog, you are so funny!

Leave a Reply

